Nether Weekend

My Halloween celebration started one week early with a trip to one of the best haunted houses in the country.  Netherworld is a multi leveled haunted house that features amazing special effects, live actors swinging from ceilings, and the most detailed set design I’ve ever seen.

I’m usually not one for haunted houses and I am very easily startled.  Most of the time I have to sleep with my lamp on for a week after watching a scary movie.  No, being terrified is not my idea of “fun.”  However, this is one haunted house that just has to be seen.  So, with my mouth dry as a desert and heart nearly pounding out of my chest I went through the doorway to the first attraction entitled “Raw Meat.”

 

It was very dark in most places with the only light being insane flashes of strobe. You couldn’t see the severed body parts hanging from the ceiling until your face was smacking into them and at one point the floor was so coated in fake blood I could barely pick my feet up.  Charming.  🙂  There were several tight spaces to squeeze through and a swamp area with a grated floor that shook so bad I could barely stand up straight.  My favorite part was the chainsaw weilding asshole who I knew was waiting to chase me out the door.  We’d seen him earlier while waiting in line for tickets and I actually saw one girl hit the ground tripping over herself trying to get away from him.  But they aren’t allowed to touch you at least.

 

The bigger attraction was much more detailed but somehow less scary to me.  It was more impressive and amazing than scary.  Although the creepy man that popped out of the wall and whispered weird devil words in my ear was a  little scary.  Mechanical monsters and giant aliens with snapping jaws were among the more elaborate attractions.  I got up close and personal with one of these attractions as my boyfriend lovingly tried to push me into it’s mouth!  He was rewarded with a swift elbow to the ribs.

Leave a comment