Acid Pussy – Scene 10 – Date

Mesa Grill

Ryan was just leaving Dollheads Salon when Voytek called to ask her out. He had chosen Mesa Grill for their first date. Okay, so he may get a substantial amount of his dinner on his shirt, but at least he has good taste. A black jack dealer’s salary didn’t allow Ryan to go to nice restaurants.

He picked her up at 7pm.  He was wearing a mustard free button up shirt and dark jeans, but still sported his stuble from the first time she’d seen him. Sobriety looked good on him.

As they ate Voytek told her about his modest childhood growing up in Poland and his career in soccer that took him far from home.

“So why did you stop playing?”

“I got too drunk at a party and thought I was okay to drive. I was going too fast and dumped my bike going around a sharp curve.”

“Jesus, I can’t believe you walked away from that.”

“I was banged up pretty bad. I had a cracked pelvis that took a long time to heal. Because of the pain I got addicted to morphine, and I wasn’t able to play soccer anymore.”

“That sounds terrible, but I guess it could have been a lot worse.”

He shook his head in agreement. “I was lucky that night.” He looked uncomfortable talking about his brush with death.

Ryan agreed it was a heavy topic for a first date but she wasn’t sure how to turn the conversation.

Voytek thought of something and his face brightened. “Want to hear something cool?”

“What’s that?”

“They put a metal plate in my shin and my forehead.” He tapped lightly on his head for emphasis.

Of course, there was no satisfying metallic sound that followed, but she did notice his forehead looked thicker after the revelation.

“Wow, its like you’re part cyborg!” Oops. What a dumbshit thing to say. “SorrySometimes thoughts just come up and out before I can stop them.”

Voytek he smiled and quickly changed the subject again. “How about I make you an authentic Polish dinner next time?”

         So he was already planning another date was he?

“Well I’m not sure you’ll be able to top Bobby’s sea bass and scallops, but give it a shot.” She forked a piece of flaky white meat into her mouth and chewed. “I’ve always wondered what pierogi taste like.”

“Is that the only thing you know about Polish cuisine?”

“Afraid so.”

“I’ll look forward to educating you then.”

Leave a Reply

